A Vow of Sisterhood

26 Oct

holi_in_india_-_enjoyed_by_all

In the spirit of loving one another as we are moved by the divine to perfect, I vow to my sisters here and now and for the future:

  • I will stand with you, shoulder to shoulder, and defend your right to be you, to do you, and to have you.
  • I will protect and defend your human rights regardless of differences.
  • I will treat you with respect and dignity regardless of  differences.
  • I will admit my failures and mistakes, and forgive yours.
  • I will seek to understand your differences and empathize with your experience and perspective.
  • I will do my best to help you grow spiritually and intellectually.
  • I will seek to compassionately inform you when I believe you or saying or doing things that are unwise or likely to cause harm to you and your loved ones.
  • I will honor your autonomy by refraining from manipulation when I utterly disagree with your choices.
  • I will rejoice in your faith and trust that your relationship with the divine–no matter how much our interpretations or valuations seem to be opposed–I will defend your right and freedom to worship, so long as you equally respect others’ rights and freedoms.
  • I will continue to nurture the attitudes of peacemakers who, like Jesus the greatest peacemaker, preached love, humility, grace, mercy, wisdom, and the golden rule of treating others as we would have others treat us–to judge not because none of us wants to be judged.
  • I promise that when I stumble (and I will because I am no better than any other human being) that I will own my mess, clean it up, and carry on as your sister.

The same goes for my brothers.

Everyone is my brother and my sister, no matter who you voted.

And for the record, I am not religious at all, but I will relentlessly defend others’ rights to their beliefs even when I think those beliefs are potentially harmful superstitions.  I would rather die than deny another human being their rights and freedoms.`

Leave a Reply

